Bigindicator

Night Visions: Dreams & Creatures of the Night

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
20130608234416-image1
Night Visions: Dreams & Creatures of the Night
Curated by: Shayna Yasuhara

906 1/2 Divisadero St.
San Francisco, CA 94115
June 14th, 2013 - July 7th, 2013
Opening: June 14th, 2013 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://bigumbrellastudios.com
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
Western Addition
EMAIL:  
info@bigumbrellastudios.com
PHONE:  
(415) 359-9211
OPEN HOURS:  
Tues-Sat 1-6 pm
TAGS:  
mixed-media, graffiti/street-art, conceptual, pop, surrealism, abstract, figurative, modern
COST:  
Free

DESCRIPTION

Paint Pens in Purses, the national urban art collective, is proud to present their newest show entitled "Night Visions”. The show is a collection of urban, contemporary, and Low Brow artwork related to dreams and creatures of the night. The show is curated by Paint Pens in Purses’ founder, Shayna Yasuhara.

Paint Pens in Purses was established in 2008 on the east coast and has since created a second home in San Francisco. The goal of Paint Pens in Purses is simply to create a community; to find amazing artists, bring them together, and share them with the world. Paint Pens in Purses runs an online Featured Artist series, has created pop-up galleries, large scale murals, curated art shows on both coasts, and has been sponsored by Scion, Pabst Blue Ribbon and Sharpie, to name a few.

The fourteen artists selected for this show are: Chelsea Brown, Crystal Gonzalez, Kellen Breen, Harrison Love, Lizzy Layne, Marina Loeb, Mary Syring, Michael Kerbow, Rick Kitagawa, Sara Jennison, Shayna Why, Shayna Yasuhara, Spencer Mann, and Tofusquirrel.

The official opening is Friday, June 14th at Big Umbrella Studios (906 Divisadero St/ cross street McAllister) from 7pm to 11pm. Complimentary drinks for early birds and music by Brap Dem Recordings. Please remember to RSVP via the Facebook event page.


For more information visit:

Paint Pens in Purses www.paintpensinpurses.com

Big Umbrella Studios www.bigumbrellastudios.com


ARTISTS:

Chelsea Brown /// chelseadraws.com

Crystal Gonzalez /// crystalgonzalez.cleanfolio.com

Kellen Breen /// cargocollective.com/kellenbreen

Harrison Love /// harrisonlove.com

Lizzy Layne /// www.lizzylayne.com

Marina Loeb /// marinaloeb.tumblr.com

Mary Syring  ///marysyring.com

Michael Kerbow ///  michaelkerbow.com

Rick Kitagawa /// rickkitagawa.com

Sara Jennison

Shayna Why /// .shaynawhy.com

Shayna Yasuhara (CURATOR) /// shaynashenanigans.com

Spencer Mann

Tofusquirrel /// tofusquirrel.com