A prestigious history
The Palais du Luxembourg is built for Marie de Médicis by the architect Salomon de Brosse. His design includes two galleries to hold a cycle of 24 paintings by Rubens glorifying the queen.
Opening of France's first public museum of painting in the East Wing. The hundred paintings on view were taken from the King's Chambers; it is the public's first opportunity to discover Leonardo da Vinci, Titian, Veronese, Rembrandt, Van Dyck, Poussin, and Raphael.
The allies demand the return of patrimonial treasures seized by the Directoire. The Louvre is emptied and the paintings in the Luxembourg are brought in to partially fill the space.
The galleries of the palace become a museum of living artists, with works by David, Gros, Girodet, Ingres, and Delacroix, among others, on view.
1884 - 1886:
The building that houses the museum today is constructed by the Senate. It is bequeathed a collection by Caillebotte. Picasso, Pissaro, Bonnard, Degas, Gauguin, and Renoir are exhibited until 1937, when the collections are transferred to the new modern art museum.
1937 - 2000:
Under the management of the Culture Ministry, the Museum becomes a gallery for exhibitions devoted to presenting the artistic heritage of the regions of France.
Line 4 : Saint Sulpice and Odéon stations
Line 12 : Rennes station
RER B : Luxembourg station, "Jardin du Luxembourg" exit
lines 58, 84, 89, "Musée du Luxembourg" or "Sénat" stops
26 rue Guynemer ; 74 rue de Vaugirard ; 34 rue Condé
Parking garages :
Place Saint-Sulpice and Marché Saint-Germain
Bus/coach parking :
rue Auguste Comte
For persons with reduced mobility
Reserved parking for persons with reduced mobility is located across from the Museum at 21 rue Guynemer
The website will be permanently closed shortly, so please retrieve any content you wish to save.