Bigindicator

dance anywhere

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
Couple
dance anywhere
Curated by: Beth Fein

200 Larkin St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
March 26th, 2010 12:00 PM - 12:00 PM

QUICK FACTS
EVENT TYPE:  
Performance
WEBSITE:  
http://www.asianart.org/
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
Union Square/Civic Center
EMAIL:  
members@asianart.org
PHONE:  
415.581.3500
OPEN HOURS:  
Tue-Wed, Fri-Sun 10-5; Thu (Jan-Oct) 10-9; Thu (Nov-Dec) 10-5; closed Mon
TAGS:  
performance, conceptual
COST:  
free

DESCRIPTION

dance anywhere is an annual, conceptual public art performance that begins with a simple premise - an open invitation for people to stop and dance, wherever they are at 12 noon in San Francisco, 3 pm in New York, 8 pm in Paris, and so on around the world. Participants are encouraged to document their experience through photography and video, which is shared on the dance anywhere website and used to inspire visual art projects. This year, dance anywhere will occur on March 26, 2010.

By inviting people to stop and dance on a specific date and time, dance anywhere integrates art into everyday public spaces and exposes unsuspecting audiences to dance. The project also transforms perceptions of where and how art can occur, demonstrating that art does not need to be exhibited in a gallery, and dance does not need to be performed on a stage. dance anywhere also helps to develop audiences for live performance by exposing people to dance who may not otherwise attend a theater-based performance.

Go to www.danceanywhere.org for more information or to RSVP

ArtSlant has shutdown. The website is currently running in a view-only mode to allow archiving of the content.

The website will be permanently closed shortly, so please retrieve any content you wish to save.