Artists for Artists: 51st Anniversary Exhibition to Benefit the Foundation for Contemporary Arts

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
Untitled, 2006 Blown Glass, Flasche Paint, Aluminum, Pewter 6 1/2 X 13 1/2 X 10 Inches; 17 X 34 X 25 Cm. © Courtesy of the Artist and Matthew Marks Gallery - 526 W. 22nd St.
Artists for Artists: 51st Anniversary Exhibition to Benefit the Foundation for Contemporary Arts

526 W 22nd St.
10011 New York
December 13th, 2014 - January 10th, 2015
Opening: December 13th, 2014 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Tue-Sat 10-6
painting, sculpture


Matthew Marks is pleased to announce Artists for Artists: 51st Anniversary Exhibition to Benefit the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, the next exhibition in his gallery at 526 West 22nd Street. This will be the Foundation for Contemporary Arts’ fourteenth benefit exhibition. Organized by Brooke Alexander, Cecily Brown, Robert Gober, Anne Dias Griffin, Agnes Gund, Jasper Johns, Julian Lethbridge, Glenn Ligon, Kara Walker, and T. J. Wilcox, Artists for Artists will raise funds for the Foundation’s grants to artists.

The Foundation for Contemporary Arts was established in a spirit of artistic community through the efforts of Jasper Johns and John Cage. It began in 1963 when seventy-eight painters and sculptors contributed works to be sold at an exhibition to benefit their colleagues in the arts. With funds raised from the proceeds of benefit exhibition sales, the Foundation has offered a significant program of assistance to outstanding and unusually promising artists, as well as to organizations that create, present, or support work of an imaginative, contemporary nature. It is the only foundation of its kind created by artists to benefit other artists.

The exhibition is comprised of forty-three artworks by Ai Weiwei, Stephen Andrews, Cecily Brown, Lucinda Childs, Cynthia Daignault, Walton Ford, Mark Thomas Gibson, Liam Gillick, Robert Gober, Guyton\Walker, Rachel Harrison, Jasper Johns, Jennie C. Jones, Kim Jones, Ellsworth Kelly, Anselm Kiefer, Jeff Koons, Julian Lethbridge, Glenn Ligon, Julie Mehretu, Kate Millett, Meredith Monk, Sophy Naess, Ken Okiishi, Elizabeth Peyton, Seth Price, Steve Reich, Clifford Ross, Ed Ruscha, Amy Sillman, Lorna Simpson, Josh Smith, Rudolf Stingel, Emily Sundblad, Ena Swansea, Sarah Sze, Kara Walker, Pae White, and T. J. Wilcox. The artists have generously donated the artworks on view to benefit FCA's grant programs.

A fully illustrated catalogue accompanies the exhibition.

Artists for Artists will be on view from December 13 to January 10, 2015, Tuesday through Saturday, 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

ArtSlant has shutdown. The website is currently running in a view-only mode to allow archiving of the content.

The website will be permanently closed shortly, so please retrieve any content you wish to save.