Bigindicator

Amplify Action: "Sustainability Through The Arts"

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
20121221193309-amplify_action
Amplify Action Flyer
20120426044222-intreenet
In-Tree-Net ( detail ), 2012 Wood, Plumbing Hardware Variable © Kristyna and Marek Milde
Amplify Action: "Sustainability Through The Arts"

April 21st, 2012 - July 27th, 2012
Opening: April 21st, 2012 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://www.restorationplaza.org/arts-and...
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
brooklyn
EMAIL:  
amplifyaction2012@gmail.com
PHONE:  
718-636-6900
OPEN HOURS:  
Wednesday to Friday from 11AM to 6PM and on Saturday from 1PM to 6PM.
SCHOOL ASSOCIATION:  
New York, Pratt Institute, Brooklyn
TAGS:  
sustainability, sustainability photography, social sculpture, photography, mixed-media, digital, installation, video-art, conceptual, pop, realism, landscape, surrealism, abstract, figurative, modern, traditional, sculpture
COST:  
40

DESCRIPTION

Bedford Stuyvesant Restoration Corporation, the Pratt Center for Community Development, and Pratt's Initiative for Arts, Community, and Social Change invite you to attend a series of events to celebrate the opening of Amplify Action: Sustainability through the Arts, an exhibition of work by artists both local and abroad that promotes civic dialogue on community sustainability.

Amplify Action: Sustainability Through the Arts will demonstrate how arts, culture, and media can be powerful catalysts for social change and will allow the community to engage with themes of sustainable living, healthy consumer choices, and environmental action. Featured works examine diverse topic related to sustainability, including ecology, economy, equity, environmental consciousness, resource conservation and efficiency, agriculture, architecture, infrastructure, environmental health, and justice.


Participating artists:
Elaine Angelopoulos | local-artists.org/user/4807/cv
Jean Brennan | www.jeanbrennan.tumblr.com
Adam Brent | adambrent.com
Roberto deJesus | www.artslant.com/global/artists/show/139614-roberto-de-jesus
Wolfgang Ryan | www.wolfgangryan.com
Barbara Ekström | www.barbaraekstrom.se
Carrie Grubb | carriegrubb.com
TTK | gottkgo.com
Christopher Ho | www.christopherho.com
YK Hong | www.ykhong.com/ykart
Artcodex | www.artcodex.org
Bernard Klevickas | www.bernardklevickas.com
Michael Konrad | www.konradprojects.net
Mary Mattingly | www.marymattingly.com
Kristyna & Marek Milde | www.mildeart.com
Michael Millspaugh | www.lakegeorgearts.org/michael_%20millspaugh.htm
Simonetta Moro, Tattfoo Tan, and students of Eugene Lang College and New School for Liberal Arts | simonettamoro.com
Antonia Perez | antoniaaperezstudio.blogspot.com
Kevin William Reed | www.kevinwilliamreed.com
Aya Rodriguez-Izumi | www.iamaya.com
Vincent Romaniello | vincent-romaniello.blogspot.com
Andrew Scott | www.afsart.com
Robert Stephenson | www.robstephenson.com
Means & Ways: Radek Szczesny Jenny Way | www.artslant.com/global/artists/show/44622-radek-szczesny?tab=PROFILE
Kioka Williams, Bed-Stuy Community Quilt Project |www.facebook.com/bedstuyunity.fiberart

We are happy to announce the opening reception event for Amplify Action:

Amplify Action: Sustainability through the Arts Opening Reception
Saturday, April 21st, 4-6pm
Bedford Stuyvesant Restoration Corporation’s Skylight Gallery
1368 Fulton Street, 3rd Floor, Brooklyn, New York