2012 Califoria Open Exhibition

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
2012 California Open
2012 Califoria Open Exhibition
Curated by: Meg Linton

5458 Wilshire Blvd.
90036 Los Angeles
August 15th, 2012 - August 31st, 2012
Opening: August 18th, 2012 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Other (outside areas listed)
Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 5 pm
photography, mixed-media, digital, conceptual, landscape, figurative, sculpture


2012 California Open Exhibition
August 15th - 31, 2012

Reception and Awards Ceremony:
Saturday, August 18, 2012, 5-8 pm

TAG Gallery is proud to present the seventh annual California Open Juried Exhibition on August 15, 2012 through August 31, 2012. The reception and awards ceremony will be on Saturday, August 18, from 5-8pm.

The nationwide competition recognizes excellence in a diverse range of styles and media and offers artists exposure at Bergamot Station Arts Center, Southern California’s largest art gallery complex and cultural center.

Interest in the California Open has been on the rise since TAG Gallery moved to its current location in Bergamot Station in 2009. 456 artists entered the juried show and 59 artworks were selected from more than 1300 entries by Juror Meg Linton, the renowned Director of Galleries and Exhibitions at the Ben Maltz Gallery and Otis College of Art and Design.

While Linton acknowledges the challenging task of winnowing the entries, she also comments that “it was encouraging to see such a strong, vibrant, and diverse range of media, styles, and expressions. I was extremely impressed with the wide array of work and the show offers a glimpse of the many talented artists working in California.” Over the last seventeen years, Linton has organized hundreds of solo and group exhibitions, published dozens of catalogs and worked with respected artists, curators and institutions. She currently serves on the Board of Directors and Program Committee for 18th Street Art Center, Santa Monica, as an Executive Board Member for the LAX Coastal Area Chamber of Commerce, and as a member of the international curators’ congress IKT.

With her selection of artworks, Linton hoped to convey “the diversity of the artists’ processes, politics, and formal and personal experiences that are both familiar and provocative. This exhibition is a celebration of their talent, their passion and their ability to express themselves in positive and stimulating ways. It is a vital sampling of the energy encouraged in this environment. these inspired and creative individuals possess the potential to shape our visual world in meaningful ways.”

TAG Gallery was established in 1993 as a not-for-profit corporation, owned by its members, who share in all business decisions, responsibilities and expenses. It is both a physical gallery and a community of approximately forty artists. TAG’s mission is to offer artists invaluable opportunities for promotional and creative growth. TAG offers extensive exhibition opportunities through the gallery and off-site venues, exposure to prominent members of the art community and inclusion on its website. TAG has been a resource for launching the careers of both emerging and mid-career artists.

Events at TAG, including frequent talks by exhibiting and visiting artists, and the annual California Open Exhibition draw ever-increasing audiences, providing TAG artists with a vital and growing market for their work.

Accepted Artists:
Larry Adkins, Shiva Aliabadi, David Alvarado, Susan Amorde, Sookyung Bae, Danell Beede, Susan Bolen, Liza Botkin, Steve David, Marissa Denise, Anya Dikareva, Julia Diller, Xiang Gao, David Grigsby, Jessica Grimshaw, Stephanie Han, Kathryn Hansen, Jerry Hardin, Ronnie Hutton, Narine Isajanyan, Matthew Kelly, Boris Khechoyan, Andrea Rubin Kichaven, Barbara Kolo, Harriett Lahana, Aaron Landman, Leanne Lee, Echo Lew, Chloe McEldowney, Barbara McIntyre, Robert Mollett, Robert Mollett, Lynsey Nelson, Cesar Nunez, Jane Olin, Youngla Park, David Peterson, Jill Pope, Rachael Rendon, Lynda A. N. Reyes, Katherine Rohrbacher, Heather Rosenman, Susan Rosman, William Solomon, Stephen Spiller, Doug Tausik, Codruta Tolan, Art Venti, Gary Voss, Melinda Warren, Jodi Weitzman, Hyewon Yoon, Mara Zaslove