4th Contemporary Clay Biennial Exhibition

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
Fish Head, 2010 Porcelain © Gerit Grimm
Spouting, 2010 Porcelain © Gerit Grimm
Not a Drip Castle, 2010 Porcelain © Gerit Grimm
4th Contemporary Clay Biennial Exhibition
Curated by: BRAD MILLER

May 18th, 2012 - June 23rd, 2012


Contemporary Clay Biennial
May 18 – June 23, 2012

Brad Miller Lecture
Saturday, May 19 1:30 PM – 3:00 PM
Free and Open to the Public


This exhibition will focus on the artistic disciplines of sculptural and functional ceramics from artists living in theUnited States,Canada, andLatin America.  Keeping with the tradition of this Contemporary Exhibit, juror Brad Miller has invited five artists to join the exhibit.  In addition, fifty-four artists were juried in.  All together, the exhibition will offer an exciting survey of established and emerging artists in the genre of contemporary sculptural and functional ceramics.


The invited artists are Christa Assad now working in Berkeley, CA at Fourth and Clay Studios, Julia Galloway the Director of the School of Art and Professor at the University of Montana, Missoula., Doug Casebeer the Artistic Director of Ceramics, Sculpture and Woodworking at Anderson Ranch in Snowmass Village, CO, Eva Kwong who is now an Adjunct Professor at Kent State University in Ohio, and German Ceramicist Gerit Grimm who currently lives in Los Angeles, CA. 


Fify-four artists were selected for the exhibition from the pool of eighty-three artists submitting. The juried artists are Paul A. McCoy, Waco, TX, Hong-Ling Wee, New York, NY, Penny Woolsey, Denver, CO, Eugenia Meltzer, Winnetka, IL, Sara Ransford, Aspen, CO, Carolyn Nelson, Yakima, WA, Mary Jursinovic, Paonia, CO, Donna Rozman, Crested Butte, CO, Delores Fortuna, Galena, IL, Sharon Gardner, Muncie, IN, Susan Beiner, Tempe, AZ, Paul Morris, Fort Collins, CO, John Tobin, Chesapeake, VA, Laura Kukkee, Maryville, MO, Seth Green, Morehead, KY, Daniel Slack, Livermore, CO, Daniel Gardner, Eagan, MN, Sara J. Parent-Ramos, Alfred, NY, Lee Middleman, Portola, CA, Noriko Kuresumi Astoria, NY, Anne Russell, Santa Fe, NM, Jim Romberg, Sedona, AZ, Lauren Mayer, Longmont, CO, Mike Garlitz, Denton, TX, Amy Chase, Cape Girarddeau, MO, Laura Elm, Crested Butte, CO, Kieth Carter, Lee’s Summit, MO, Marta Matray, Minneapolis, MN, Tammy Lane, Aspen, CO, Jonathan Fitz, Columbus, OH, Molly Peacock, Aspen, CO, Julie McNair, Telluride, CO, KyoungHwa Oh, Grand Junction, CO, John-Thomas Richard, Hazel Green, WI, Tybre Newcomer, Wichita Falls, TX, Ray Chen, Terre Haute, IN, Ann Fremgen, Golden, CO, Joan Lurie, Brooklyn, NY, Hunter Stamps, Lexington, KY, Neil Celani, Greeley, CO, John W Hopkins, Grand Terrace, CA, Jeff Vick, Montpelier, VA, Chad Gunderson, Bennington, VT, Will Herrera, Maui, HI, Jean Smith, Denver, CO, Mark Saro, Grand Junction, CO, Steve Hilton, Wichita Falls, TX, Anthony Maki Gill, Rocklin, CA, CJ Jilek, Carbondale, CO, Jake Allee, Grand Junction, CO, Geodele Vanhille, Norwood, CO, Mark Harro, Carbondale, CO, Kelly McKibben-Harro, Carbondale, CO, Scotty Cathcart, Aspen, CO.


This year’s juror is Brad Miller of Venice, CA. 

Brad Miller was the Ceramics Director in 1980- 1984 at Anderson Ranch in Snowmass Village, Colorado and later became the Executive Director in 1984- 1992.   In 1994 Brad Miller received a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship.  His work is in the permanent collections of  the Los Angeles County Art Museum, Arizona State Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, Craft & Folk Museum in Los Angeles, CA and The National Museum of American Art in Washington D.C. just to name a few.   For more information on Brad Miller go to his website