Bigindicator

Dark Water

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
20111105074256-ewinnel_image1
Khaahhh Oil on Panel 48" X 60" © Courtesy of the Artist and CoproGallery
20111105074139-a_aron
Winter Cabin Oil on Canvas 30" X 41" (36" X 47" Framed) © Courtesy of the Artist and CoproGallery
Dark Water
Curated by: Martin Wittfooth

Bergamot Station
2525 Michigan Ave., #T-5
Santa Monica, CA 90404
November 12th, 2011 - December 3rd, 2011
Opening: November 12th, 2011 8:00 PM - 11:30 PM

QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://www.copronason.com/
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
santa monica/venice
EMAIL:  
copronason@msn.com
PHONE:  
310.829.2156
OPEN HOURS:  
Wed-Sat 1-6 PM when we have a show running (holidays & downtime please call to make appointment)

DESCRIPTION

Copro Gallery presents a group art exhibition curated by artist Martin Wittfooth. Bringing together 29 internationally renowned contemporary painters, Dark Water is a collaborative exploration of a theme that yields both personal as well as universal interpretations. 

Historically in art and literature, the imagery of dark water has made a symbolic allusion to various states of the inner self, such as the murky depths of the subconscious or the raging seas of our more turbulent  moods. Alternatively, in our modern age the imagery of dark water can also provoke a reflection on such topics as environmental imbalance and a global dependency on - and uneasy relationship with - the dark waters of industry. Ferrying us across this stygian visual landscape are some of the most celebrated painters of our era. Artists in this group have their work included in such public collectio as The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Brooklyn Museum, The Smithsonian Institute, and London's National Portrait Gallery. 

Artists Included; 
Marshall Arisman (www.marshallarisman.com)

Steven Assael (www.stevenassael.com)
John Brophy (www.jbrophy.com)
Dave Cooper (www.davegraphics.com)
Phil Hale (www.allenspiegelfinearts.com/hale.html)
Caitlin Hackett (www.caitlinhackett.carbonmade.com)
Andrew Hem (www.andrewhem.com)
Kenichi Hoshine (www.kenichihoshine.com)
Charlie Immer (www.charlieimmer.com)
Josh Keyes: (www.joshkeyes.com)
Brad Kunkle : (www.BradKunkle.com)
Jean Labourdette (www.turfizm.com)
Jeremy Lipking (www.lipking.com)
Adam Miller (www.adammillerart.com)
Alyssa Monks (www.alyssamonks.com)
Christian Rex Van Minnen (www.seevanminnen.com)
Jenny Morgan (www.jennymorganart.com)
Billy Norrby (www.billynorrby.com)
Alexandra Pacula (www.alexandrapacula.com)
Mu Pan (www.mupan.com)
Matt Rota (www.mattrotasart.com)
Jean-Pierre Roy (www.jean-pierreroy.com)
Ben Smith (www.bensmith.viewbook.com)
Nicola Verlato (www.nicolaverlato.com)
Eric White (www.ewhite.com)
Aron Wiesenfeld (www.aronwiesenfeld.com)
Elizabeth Winnel (www.bensmith.viewbook.com)
Jason Yarmosky (www.jasonyarmosky.com)
Martin Wittfooth (www.martinwittfooth.com)


Henry