Exhibition Highlights MICA-Affiliated Trawick Prize, Bethesda Painting Award Honorees

Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
© MICA - Maryland Institute College of Art
Exhibition Highlights MICA-Affiliated Trawick Prize, Bethesda Painting Award Honorees

1300, 1303 Mount Royal Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21217
May 30th, 2009 - June 21st, 2009

United States
Mon-Sat 10-5; Sun 12-5
mixed-media, installation, landscape


BALTIMORE-MICA's Office of Alumni and Parent Relations and the MICA Alumni Association present the work of 16 MICA students, faculty, and alumni who have excelled in competition for the notable Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Art Awards and the Bethesda Painting Award in an exhibition that takes place Saturday, May 30-Sunday, June 21 in the College's Meyerhoff Gallery of Fox Building, 1303 W. Mount Royal Ave.

MICA-Affiliated Trawick Prize and Bethesda Painting Award Honorees, 2006-2008 features MICA artists who, through their innovative work in a broad range of media, genre, and aesthetic statement, define a collective force in regional and international venues for exhibition and discourse for the visual arts.

Bethesda Painting Award honoree Cara Ober '05 layers drawing, painting, text, and printmaking into mixed media works that examine and reinterpret sentimental imagery. Young Artist Award recipient Ryan Browning '08 translates an imagination of an alternate history of the earth, in which images and virtual landscapes commingle with geological processes. Painter Katherine Tzu-Lan Mann '09 articulates space with an organic sensitivity united by an illuminating palette of lush forms "that grow and breathe but also become overwhelmed with their own excess." Youngmi Song Organ '02, a Trawick Prize Award 2008 finalist, meticulously incorporates the use of human hair into geometric drawings.

MICA Rinehart School of Art alumni Laura Amussen '06, Christopher Bathgate '98, and Judy Stone '09 work in brass, wire mesh, acrylic, copper, stainless steel, and a range of materials that are content-reflective. Bethesda Painting Award honorees James Rieck '87, '03, faculty Bill Schmidt '71, faculty Phyllis Plattner, Andrew Wodzianski '02; and faculty Jo Smail, first place Trawick Prize Award winner for 2007, are painters who have refined the relationship with their medium and style.

The paintings, drawings and installations of Trawick Prize Award 2008 semi-finalists Melissa Dickenson '02, Lillian Bayley Hoover '05, and Magnolia Laurie '07 skillfully examine alternate treatments of space. Molly Springfield '00, also a Trawick Prize Award 2008 semi-finalist, continues to develop a compelling project series of drawings and installations based on text.