Event  |  Reviews  |  Comments
© Courtesy of the artist & Art League Houston

1953 Montrose Blvd
Houston, Texas 77006
September 7th, 2012 - November 2nd, 2012

United States
713 523 9530
9 AM - 5 PM Monday - Friday, 11 AM - 5 PM Saturday


Art League Houston (ALH) is proud to announce the 2012 Texas Artist of the Year exhibition, FLYAWAY: New Work by Aaron Parazette. The exhibition features a selection of new paintings from the Color Key series, which the artist has been developing for the last three years, as well as a large site specific wall painting. This will be the artists first wall painting in Houston since his one person exhibition at the Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston in 2004. FLYAWAY: New Work by Aaron Parazette will be on view in the Main Gallery at Art League Houston from September 7 - November 2, 2012. The opening reception is Friday, September 7, 2012, 6 - 9 PM with an artist talk at 6:30 PM.
"We are so thrilled to have Aaron Parazette as our Texas Artist of the Year and Judy and Scott Nyquist as our Patrons of the Year," said Cara Pauloski Rudelson, Art League Houston President. "Recognizing individuals who enhance the art community through their continuous support of the arts in Houston and Texas artists who enrich our culture is a long standing tradition of Art League Houston," she added.
In 1983, Art League Houston created the Texas Artist of the Year award as a dynamic annual project documenting Texas art history. ALH was the first organization in the state to develop the award. To date, twenty-nine artists have been honored. Past recipients include Mary McCleary, Joseph Havel, Keith Carter, Melissa Miller, Dixie Friend Gay, Al Souza, Luis Jiménez, Lucas Johnson, Sharon Kopriva, Bert L. Long, Jr., Jess Moroles, Dr. John Biggers, and Dorothy Hood, among others.
In 1989 Art League Houston expanded the award to include patrons with its Texas Patron of the Year award for extraordinary individuals whose efforts have helped advance the work of Texas artists. Past patron honorees include Victoria and Marshal Lightman (2011), Leslie and Brad Bucher (2010), Karol Kreymer and Robert Card, M.D. (2009), Anne and James Harithas(2008), Gus Kopriva (2007), Clint Willour (2006), and Sue Rowan Pittman (1989).
Aaron Parazette has lived and worked in Texas for over 20 years. He was born and raised in California and came to Houston in 1990 to be part of the Core Residency Program at the Glassell School of Art. As a Texas artist Aaron has had an extremely active career, with his work being shown regionally, nationally, and internationally. He is represented by McClain Gallery in Houston. He has had solo exhibitions at McClain Gallery, Texas Gallery, and the Contemporary Arts Museum in Houston, the Dallas Contemporary and Talley Dunn Gallery in Dallas, the Mark Moore Gallery and the Gregory Lind Gallery in San Fransisco, the ARCO International Contemporary Art Fair in Madrid, Spain, and Marlborough Gallery in New York.
Aaron has also been included in over 100 group exhibitions at venues including University of South Florida Contemporary Art Museum in Tampa, Florida; Exit Art in New York; The New Orleans Museum of Art; The Chicago Cultural Center; Hall Walls in Buffalo, New York; Art Pace in San Antonio; the Loggia Gallery in Toronto, Canada; The San Francisco Art Institute; the Saintes Museum of Art in Saintes, France, and the Young Eun Museum of Contemporary Art in Korea. Aaron's work has also been written about and reviewed regularly in publications including Art News,Art in America, Artnet, Afterimage, Art Papers, The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, Artlies, LA Weekly, and New Art Examiner.