Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide

Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (MOCCA)

Exhibition Detail

October 24th, 2012 - December 30th, 2012
October 24th, 2012 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
© Courtesy of The Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (MOCCA)
Le poids des objets, Raphaëlle de GrootRaphaëlle de Groot, Le poids des objets,
2009, installation: wooden crate, various objects
© Courtesy of the artist and the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (MOCCA)
< || >
New facility opens 2017

The Sobey Art Award is $70,000 with $50,000 going to the winner and $5,000 awarded to each of the other finalists. The Sobey Art Award, established in 2002 is awarded to a Canadian artist age 40 and under who has exhibited in a public or commercial gallery within 18 months of being nominated. It is intended to further the national conversation about contemporary art and is widely recognized as one of the most prestigious awards for contemporary art in Canada.

Raphaëlle de Groot wins 2012 Sobey Art Award

November 16, 2012—TORONTO, ON —The Curatorial Panel for the 2012 Sobey Art Award has chosen Raphaëlle de Groot as the recipient of the $50,000 award. Raphaëlle de Groot represents the Québec region.

The announcement was made this evening during a gala event to celebrate the Award’s 10th anniversary, held at the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (MOCCA) and hosted by Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada.

The Award was presented to the winning artist by the 2011 Sobey winners, Daniel Young and Christian Giroux.

The other shortlisted artists for this year’s Award were:

  • Gareth Moore - West Coast and Yukon;
  • Jason de Haan - Prairies and the North;
  • Derek Sullivan - Ontario; 
  • Eleanor King – Atlantic.

Each of these artists receives $5,000 in prize money from the Sobey Art Foundation.

Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.