STREET now open! Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide
 
Nowhere

Hayes Valley Market Gallery (Agesong Gallery)

Exhibition Detail
Group Exhibition
Ancient City - the art of urban transformation
Curated by: Daniel Newman
580 Hayes St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
Main-recommend2-00efe575372c445bf9143ee2903db57d 1 person has recommended this exhibit


February 8th, 2008 - March 1st, 2008
Opening: 
February 8th, 2008 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
 
, Barbara HolmesBarbara Holmes
, Ken BermanKen Berman
, Liz MamorskyLiz Mamorsky
, Yong HanYong Han
, Grayson MaloneGrayson Malone
, Mitchell ConferMitchell Confer
, Daniel NewmanDaniel Newman
, Yvonne MouserYvonne Mouser
< || >
> QUICK FACTS
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
Western Addition
OPEN HOURS:  
Thu - Fri 2-7pm, Sat - Sun 12-5pm
TAGS:  
urban, expressionism, Hayes, Valley
COST:  
FREE
CHILDREN:  
This event is appropriate for children
> DESCRIPTION

 The opening reception will include wine by l'Uvaggio di Giacomo (www.uvaggio.com), sushi creations by Soul Cocina (www.soulcocina.com), and rare, vintage Jamaican oldies spun by Wake the Town (www.myspace.com/revivalsoundsystem).


Visit on web: www.ancientcitysf.com

 

Description:

At an unprecedented pace, we're witnessing a massive transformation of San Francisco; and cities are certainly unique in the dynamic way they process time.  Whether one identifies with preservation or progress, is attracted by the geometry of the skyline or the oxidization of old steel, it is an auspicious moment in which to get a diverse set of artistic impressions on the theme of urban transformation. The "Ancient City" exhibition, running at the spacious, soon to be torn down, Hayes Valley Market Gallery, presents works by 15 Bay Area artists working in very diverse media: from hanging mobile, to concrete and recycled material sculpture, to encaustic lightbox painting, and time-lapse still life.

Participating Artists:
Ken Berman – Painting - http://home.att.net/~bermansworld/Website-2007-C.htm
Mitchell Confer – Painting - http://www.conferart.typepad.com/
Vera Fainshtein – Time-lapse painting installation - http://dma.sjsu.edu/~vfainshtein/
Terri Garland – Photography - http://perspectivefineart.com/_wsn/page7.html
Yong Han – Metal sculpture
Barbara Holmes – Reclaimed door sculpture - http://barbaraholmes.com/
Kay Kang – Mixed media painting - http://www.artgroove.com/kaykang/index.htm
Alexandre Koulouris – Mobile - http://www.geocities.com/koulou005/
Grayson Malone – Metal infused concrete sculpture - http://www.cowboy-zen.com/
Liz Mamorsky – Recycled materials sculpture and painting - http://www.lizland.com/
Alan Mazzetti – Mixed media painting - http://www.amazzetti.net/
Yvonne Mouser – Conceptual furniture and sculpture
Daniel Newman – Photography - http://www.danielnewman.info/
Scott Reilly – Encaustic light-box painting - http://www.scottreillyart.com/
Charles Trapolin – Wire and woven sculpture - http://www.soulatlas.com/
 
Five percent of the proceeds from art sales at "Ancient City" will be donated to San Francisco Beautiful, a non-profit organization whose mission is to "improve the quality of daily life, strengthen communities, and empower citizens to maintain the character of the city's parks, neighborhoods and streets" ( www.sfbeautiful.org).
 


Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.