Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide

The Nunnery

Exhibition Detail
Curated by: Anton Lukoszevieze
181-183 Bow Road
London E3 2SJ
United Kingdom

November 3rd, 2011 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Score Lexicon 22, Score Lexicon 22
© Anton Lukoszevieze
tower hamlets
020 8980 7774
Tue-Sun 10-5
mixed-media, performance, conceptual

The Nunnery is pleased to continue an occasional series featuring recent composition with two new concerts curated by Anton Lukoszevieze and Tim Parkinson.

The first, 'Text-Sound', brings together Anton Lukoszevieze, cello; Ian Mitchell, clarinets and Ian Hunt, voice to interpret textual works written or organised to be performed with the dynamics of music.

Drawing inspiration from works by John Cage, in which the voice articulates sounds that have an ambivalent or dislocated relation to the literal meaning of the text Ian Hunt has written

'The work functions as a poem on the page but will also be written as a score for several voices…it may be like a Radio 4 panel game where a story is improvised word by word by four comedians. The effect is jerky, unpredictable, a set of changes of pitch and interval of natural speaking voices that disrupts the normal construction of hearing and interpreting. When combined with sentences striving for ordinary sense-making as well as poetry, I hope this will give back to the audience familiar experiences: when simple acts of social exchange go wrong, become opaque, not transparent...'(Ian Hunt on 'As We Descended' 2011)

Anton Lukoszevieze has recently presented, with Apartment House, an evening of John Cage's music at the South Bank.  His current projects include composing a ‘Nopera’ titled 'On D(arius) and G(irenas)' for extended group of viola, violin, voice, recorders, synthesiser, electronic playback and video, commissioned by the Amsterdam based group Trio Scordatura to be premiered at the ICA, London in 2012. He has also presented programmes of contemporary music at Wilton's Music Hall, in collaboration with Sonic Arts Network and BBC Radio 3.

Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.