STREET now open! Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide
 
Los Angeles

Irene Carlson Gallery of Photography, The University of La Verne

Exhibition Detail
Queen Bees: eco-actions and collective organizing


March 21st, 2007 - May 4th, 2007
Opening: 
April 26th, 2007 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
 
Event-slideshow-placeholder-7598836db0df8fd38455e9b6cb02802f
> ARTISTS
> QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://www.laverne.edu/academics/arts-sc...
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
san gabriel valley
PHONE:  
909.593.3511 x 4285
OPEN HOURS:  
M-F 9AM-9PM
SCHOOL ASSOCIATION:  
University of La Verne
TAGS:  
photography, photographs, feminist, women, feminism, ecology, environmental
COST:  
FREE
> DESCRIPTION
The University of La Verne Irene Carlson Gallery of Photography presents
Queen Bees: eco-actions and collective organizing
Join us for the reception and discussion with the curator and artists!
Reception Thursday, April 26: 7-9PM  Discussion 7PM

Kim Abeles | Jacki Apple | Atico 8 | Lauren Bon | Nancy Buchanan | Roya Falahi | Nancy Macko | Sheila Pinkel

Queen Bees:  eco-actions and collective organizing presents photographic artwork and documentation of women artists whose varied creative lives enunciate community.  Politically responsive and ecologically assertive, the women artists and collectives assembled in this exhibition are vital members of the global arts community.

The organizing and specialization within the bee colony resonates with these artists, and has a biological corollary in a human brain that rewards collective behavior.  In the last decade neuroscience has advanced the idea that human beings, and women in particular, are wired to collaborate and cooperate.  When given tasks that allow one individual to advance towards a goal through a collaborative effort, the brain responds by activating what are known as reward centers, producing pleasure in response to working together.  Like social insects whose specialized instincts fulfill the collective needs of the hive, the assembled artists thrive within and around identified communities.

Kim Abeles  www.kimabeles.com
Jacki Apple  www.jackiapple.com
Atico 8 – Liz Kueneke/Margarita Pineda/Ximena Covaleda
www.hangar.org/gallery/album107; www.saladestar.com/m_pineda
Lauren Bon – FarmLab and notacornfield  www.laurenbon.com; notacornfield.com; farmlab.org/
Nancy Buchanan  www.nancybuchanan.net
Roya Falahi  www.fette-gallery.com/artists/roya_falahi.php
Nancy Macko  www.nancymacko.com
Sheila Pinkel  www.art.pomona.edu/studioart/faculty/pinkel.html
the League of Imaginary Scientists www.imaginaryscience.org


Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.