STREET now open! Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide
 
Los Angeles

323 Projects

Exhibition Detail
October Surprise
Curated by: Tucker Neel
(323) 843-4652 or (323) TIE-IN-LA
This exhibition venue exists as a phone number visitors call to experience contemporary art
Los Angeles, CA 90027


October 1st, 2012 - November 30th, 2012
Opening: 
October 1st, 2012 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
 
,
> ARTISTS
> QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://323projects.com
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
hollywood
EMAIL:  
contact@323projects.com
PHONE:  
(323) 843-4652
OPEN HOURS:  
The show is open all day and all night, every day of the week. Visitors are encouraged to call back often to hear audio tracks, as works will rotate throughout the course of the exhibition.
> DESCRIPTION

323 Projects Presents OCTOBER SURPRISE 

October 1 – November 30, 2012

• OCTOBER SURPRISE is a group exhibition highlighting audio work pertaining to democracy and politics, freedom of speech and the current American election. 

• Come to the Opening Friday October 5 from 6-9PM. Attend without going anywhere by calling (323) 843-4652.

• 323 Projects is an exhibition venue that exists as a phone number: (323) 843-4652 visitors call to experience contemporary art 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION
An "October Surprise" is a news story or event breaking in October that dramatically influences public opinion and possibly the outcome of a November election. Famous October Surprises include LBJ halting bombings in North Vietnam, Nixon's "secret plan" to end the Vietnam War, the ghost of the Iran-Contra scandal impacting George Bush Sr.'s re-election bid, and the revelation of George W. Bush's drunk driving record. This exhibition takes the idea of an October Surprise as inspiration to examine the American election process, democratic participation, political news, as well as public embarrassment and grand failure. Callers to 323 Project’s telephone gallery will hear a cycling selection of original works made specifically for this exhibition, as well as found sound appropriated from a variety of sources like pop music and news reports.

323 Projects invites you to hear OCTOBER SURPRISE by calling (323) 843-4652 or (323) TIE-IN-LA. The show is open all day and all night, every day of the week. 

Audio tracks will cycle in and out throughout the course of the exhibition, so visitors are encouraged to call back over the duration of the entire show to hear each work. Callers are also invited to contribute to the exhibition by leaving audio using the gallery’s voicemail service. If you want to contribute a recording using the gallery's voicemail system please say your name before leaving your recording. Select recordings will be added as the exhibition progresses.

PARTICIPATING ARTISTS

Becky Grajeda soundcloud.com/bgrajeda

Bruce Conover

Christian Cummings christiancummingsart.com/

Davey Whitcraft daveywhitcraft.com

David Gutierrez davidgutierrezstudio.com

Mannlicher Carcano submitted by Doug Harvey dougharvey.la

Emi Tamaru emimilk.com

Frownland & Patrice Tullai & Kurt Elzner

Hazel Mandujano

Johanna Reed johannareed.net

Josh Forbes & Anna Magnuson

Karl Jean Petion soundcloud.com/jean-de-bassecour

Kiki Seror

Lorenzo Hurtado Segovia hurtadosegovia.com

Marcus Blake

Matias Viegener

Michael Dee & Anders Lansing

Michelle Wiener michellewiener.com

Olga Koumoundouros

Roy Neel

Sean Flaherty flahertystudio.com

Stephen van Dyck 

Tucker Neel tuckerneel.com

Uranium Orchard

Toban Nichols tobannichols.com

& more to come...


Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.