STREET now open! Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide
 
Los Angeles

Thinkspace

Exhibition Detail
Art Dorks Collective group show
6009 Washington Blvd.
Culver City, CA 90232


June 8th, 2007 - July 6th, 2007
Opening: 
June 8th, 2007 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
 
Event-slideshow-placeholder-7598836db0df8fd38455e9b6cb02802f
> QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://www.thinkspacegallery.com
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
culver city/west la
EMAIL:  
contact@sourharvest.com
PHONE:  
310.403.8549
OPEN HOURS:  
Tue-Sat 12-6
> DESCRIPTION

Art Dorks statement:

Dorks. Isn’t that derogatory? Not from where I’m standing. A dork, nerd, geek, weirdo, whatever, is someone who doesn’t fit into a cleanly defined mold of what a person should be in our culture. It is someone that is usually looked down on for not living up to a standard of normalcy. I think that suits us just fine. The Art Dorks, originally the brainchild web community of Brendan Danielsson, quickly evolved into a collective of artists. Our work is really not easy to define. The influences range from the 1980’s to the 1880’s and we each bring a different feel to the mix. While we tend to associate with the lowbrow kind of thing, don’t define us by that. We all share a love of drawing and whether we make monsters or meat, robots or rabbits, it is work that revels in and celebrates growing up in a pop-culture, sci-fi, kung-fu cornucopia of a culture. We make what we know, and what we know is that life is not always normal. It doesn’t always wear name brand clothes, drink light beer and watch Monday night football. It’s just life. If I can say one thing about our work, it is that it is a celebration of the things we love as people. What else should you make art about?         - Chris Mostyn / Art Dorks

 

The Dorks:

·      Shawn Barber http://sdbarber.com/

·      John Casey http://www.bunnywax.com/

·      David Chung http://thechung.com/

·      Brendan Danielsson http://bdanielsson.com/

·      Justin DeGarmo http://justindegarmo.com/

·      Mark Elliott http://www.markelliott.artroof.com/

·      Jad Fair http://jadfair.org/

·      Joseph Daniel Fiedler (aka Scary Joey) http://scaryjoey.com/

·      Robert Hardgrave (aka Farmerbob) http://farmerbobsfarm.com/

·      Gregory Jacobsen http://gregoryjacobsen.com/

·      Colin Johnson http://www.colinjohnsonillustration.com/

·      Travis Louie http://www.travislouie.artroof.com/

·      Dan May http://www.mayillustration.com/

·      Chris Mostyn http://squatthrust.blogspot.com/

·      Heiko Muller http://www.heikomueller.de/

·      Jason Murphy http://www.myspace.com/jasonmurphy77

·      Aaron Nather (aka Crickskipper) http://www.crickskipper.com/

·      Kristian Olson http://www.kristianolson.com/

·      Matthew Pasquarello http://www.myspace.com/mpasquarello

·      Anthony Pontius http://anthonypontius.vox.com/

·      Jeremy Pruitt (aka Thinkmule) http://thinkmule.com/

·      Katie Ridley http://www.sellinc.com/ridley_pv.html

·      Meagan Ridley http://artdorks.com/artists/artists.html

·      Chris Ryniak http://bigistudio.com/

·      Kim Scott http://feedyoureye.com/

·      Michael Slack http://www.slackart.com/

·      Johnny Yanok http://johnnyyanok.com/

 

Plus a special installation from:

David Chung, Jeremy Pruitt, Joseph Daniel Fiedler, Robert Hardgrave, Kristian Olson, Justin DeGarmo & Kim Scott

 

Artist collective website: www.artdorks.com




Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.