Chicago | Los Angeles | Miami | New York | San Francisco | Santa Fe
Amsterdam | Berlin | Brussels | London | Paris | São Paulo | Toronto | China | India | Worldwide
 
Los Angeles

Subliminal Projects

Exhibition Detail
SUBject/subJECT: An Exhibition of Female Artists Benefitting the Downtown Women's Center
Curated by: Deedee Cheriel
1331 W Sunset Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90026


April 10th, 2010 - May 8th, 2010
Opening: 
April 10th, 2010 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM
 
,
> ARTISTS
> QUICK FACTS
WEBSITE:  
http://www.subliminalprojects.com
NEIGHBORHOOD:  
silverlake/echo park
EMAIL:  
info@subliminalprojects.com
PHONE:  
213.213.0078
OPEN HOURS:  
Tues. - Fri. / 11 AM-6 PM, Sat. 12-5 PM
COST:  
FREE
> DESCRIPTION

Subliminal Projects is pleased to present SUBject/subJECT, a group exhibition opening April 10, featuring works from over a dozen female artists handpicked by the gallery and co-curator Deedee Cheriel.

SUBject/subJECT examines women’s use of public platforms in mass media, inviting both artists and viewers into a dialogue about role models, self-image and the messages women project in both the mainstream and alternative media. Says Cheriel, “Now that women have ‘equal rights,’ what are we trying to say? What’s our subject?  Since female artists remain underrepresented in galleries and museums, we created this show as a platform for emerging women artists to represent!”

Among the show’s artists are Swoon, whose gritty yet delicate paper cutout portraits and large-scale flotillas of otherworldly art boats have landed her on the cover of this month’s ARTnews; Elizabeth McGrath, who breathes beauty and life into the macabre through her creature sculptures and theater-of-the-mind dioramas; and Jen Stark, whose colorful paper sculptures, drawings and animations have been described by Wired as “coldly mathematical yet exuberantly organic.” Other artists include Cheriel, Monica Canilao, Kime Buzzelli, Mona Superhero, Meryl Smith, Mel Kadel, Jessica Hess, Marissa Textor, Jesse Spears and Nikki McClure.

Ten percent of proceeds from all SUBject/subJECT art sales will go to the Los Angeles Downtown Women’s Center, dedicated to providing permanent, supportive housing and a safe and healthy community for homeless women.

A closing event will be held on Saturday, May 8, featuring performances and more.

 

ARTISTS:

Swoon / www.weareswimmingcities.org

Elizabeth McGrath / www.elizabethmcgrath.com

Jen Stark / www.jenstark.com

Deedee Cheriel / www.deedeecheriel.com

Monica Canilao / www.monicacanilao.com

Kime Buzzelli / www.kimebuzzelli.com

Mona Superhero / www.monasuperhero.com

Meryl Smith / merylsmith.blogspot.com

Mel Kadel / www.melkadel.com

Jessica Hess / www.jessicahess.com

Marissa Textor / www.marissatextor.com

Jesse Spears / www.imsosuredude.com

Nikki McClure / www.nikkimcclure.com


Copyright © 2006-2013 by ArtSlant, Inc. All images and content remain the © of their rightful owners.